The End of an Era

As I write this I sit on the couch at my dad’s house in Maine surrounded by kitties.  Georgia is behind me and summer employment is ahead of me.  I’ve said goodbye to all of my closest and best friends who I hadn’t even met a year ago.  Who knew I have a German soulmate?  Who could’ve guessed that a sorority girl from Texas would become one of my best friends?

Marissa came to Maine to visit for a week and that week has long passed already.  She’s reentered her real life down in Texas.  Joanne is back in Ireland with her family and feeling pressured to buy a house from her dad.  Pauli is well back into the swing of things with ELSA in Dresden.  Angela is visiting her Aunt in Washington, DC.  I am getting ready to fly to Baltimore this afternoon for my summer camp job that starts tomorrow.

My clothes have been washed and dried (in a dryer!).  I have been drinking non-Georgian beers and Dr. Pepper.  I paid an arm and a leg for gas.  I shaved my own face with my own two hands (truly the saddest development of all).  It really is the end of an era.

That doesn’t (yet) mean the end of this blog!  I have so much catching up to do!  I won’t bore you with stories of talented youth and their shenanigans (plus legally I probably can’t write about them!).  Instead, I will semi-regularly (read: irregularly) update the blog with tales from last semester.  I still have most of the Turkey trip, the Armenia trip, Joanne’s Irish Project, Trabzon, Raughley’s America Project, and more to write about!  There are enough stories to keep me busy writing for weeks!  I just need to spread it out because I’m a wee bit lazy!

As a consolation prize, I will share with you here, for the first time, the latest and greatest (and first complete!) Roli-Poli Music video!

Set to the tune of Rasputin by Boney M, Raughltroni-Paultroni is a treatise on the patroni system as it exists in Georgia.  If you’ll recall, a patroni is someone’s big, strong man friend who protects them from predatory other men.  Pauli and I wrote and filmed this video back in February and it’s finally ready.  I’ll include the lyrics below the embedded video for you!  Please, enjoy!

There lived a certain man in Georgia long ago
He was big and strong, in his eyes a flaming glow
Most people looked at him with terror and with fear
But to Samegrelo chicks he was such a lovely dear
He was not celibate like a preacher
Full of ecstasy and fire
But he also was the kind of teacher
Women would desire

RA RA RAUGHLTRONI

Buddy of the Paultroni

This guy once drank eight horns full of wine

RA RA RAUGHLTRONI
Georgia’s greatest patronis
They protect gogos all of the time

With his patroni shirt and with his fancy car
He could impress the ladies really wunderbar
He punched all the creepy guys with the greatest ease
But he was real nice when he had a girl to squeeze
With the girls he was so gentlemanly
Though you’d think he’s way to rough
He liked things nice and orderly and he
Was as suave as he was buff

PAU PAU PAULTRONI
Lover of the TLG
He takes down people as sticky as slime
PAU PAU PAULTRONI
Georgia’s greatest patronis
They protect gogos all of the time

(Spoken:)
But when their drinking and lusting and their hunger
for power became known to more and more people,
the demands to do something about these outrageous
men became louder and louder.

“These men have got to go!” declared their enemies
But the ladies begged “Don’t you try to do it, sleaze”
No doubt these patronis had lots of awesome charms
Since they were so cute girls just fell into their arms
Then one night some men of lower standing
Started bothering the girls
“Come to stay with us” they kept demanding
But lucky there was

RA RA RAUGHLTRONI
No bad guys would fight with heem
They put some poison into his wine
RA RA RAUGHLTRONI
Georgia’s greatest patroni
He drank it all and said “I feel fine”

PAU PAU PAULTRONI
Together with Raughltroni
They said, “Get lost, or y’all will be dead!”
PAU PAU PAULTRONI (RA RA RAUGHLTRONI)
Kicked ass and girls were swooning
“That looked really hard!” “That’s what she said!”

(Spoken:) Shit just got real…! Mhmmm! That’s what I’m talkin’ ’bout!

3 thoughts on “The End of an Era

  1. aaaahhh! double sad face! I got here a week ago and if i can have half as much fun as you and you gang did, I’ll be the happiest man alive!
    I met Angela (or something? ) and Yev at training, they came over to share their experience with us.
    All the best with your future endeavours!
    P.S. Thanks for sharing the video, HILARIOUS!

  2. Raughley: Irakli and I just watched your video together. We died laughing-who knew Pauli could look so good in a patroni shirt of all things? But hey-he looks good in anything! You also-you even look good in that ridiculous hat. Must be the sunglasses.
    Really a talented video, thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

