Georgia Year Four: Cook Off

I don’t write as much as I used to and I think I can safely blame it on two factors: I’m lazy and I’m busy.  But mostly…let’s say…the first.

Instead of writing about my laziness, though (I bought a robe and really like to lounge about these days!), let me write about a few of the fun things that have been going on lately.

First of all, there’s a whole new cadre of people around these days.  This is what I get for changing my life around every year.  From new jobs to new locations to new roommates, consistency is pretty hard to come by.  You could even say it has been fairly…inconsistent.

A few weeks ago, my friends and I decided to try something new.  Jenni read something on the internet and inspired us all to join her in an epic competition.  A battle of skill and dexterity.  A competition requiring ingenuity and secrecy.  A Grilled Cheese-Off.

The rules were simple.  Everyone had to bring their own ingredients to Morgan and my apartment, and we drew lots to decide who would grill first.  The chef would work in solitude in the kitchen while everyone else played cards and awaited their sandwiches.

Pete the Australian went first.

When his sandwich was ready he brought it out, quartered on one of our orange plastic plates.  He had used four cheeses, lettuce, tomatoes, and bell peppers to create a really delicious sandwich, but the night was young, and we had just begun!

Sandwich #2 belonged to Morgan and boy was it a doozy.  I don’t even know everything that went into it.  Morgan made it using cheddar cheese, ham, apples, mustard, and I think some other stuff in it too!  Suffice it to say, it was delicious.  She laid it out on another plastic orange plate with apple slices between the sandwich quarters, pointing them out as “presentation”.  Not that she needed any bonus points.  It was fantastic!

I went third with a relatively simple sandwich loaded with “mozzarella” and sauteed mushrooms fried up with sliced tomatoes and sausage.  It turned out really well, though a little sloppy.  I didn’t burn the bread, which was nice and unexpected, and everyone seemed to like it!  I used one of the “sexy plates” that Angela bought for the apartment all those years ago (they’re glass and pink with a blue splash in the middle.  Very sexy indeed!)

Lastly, Jenni prepared a very interesting sweet Grilled Cheese as the dessert course.  Basically she turned the bread into French Toast (using magic) and then loaded it up with eggs, bacon, maple syrup, nuts, and bananas.  It was basically all the breakfasts.  In sandwich form.  We ate it all and didn’t regret it for a second, well, except for the giantly over-full feelings we had.

One of these days we’re going to do this again, I think.  It’s a nice challenge for my cooking “skills” and it’s a good addition to my repertoire.  Now I can do chicken in sauteed mushrooms and sauteed mushrooms on grilled cheese.  I think we’re doing Pasta next.  I have a secret ingredient in mind, but I’m not going to tell anyone yet!  Muahaha!

2 thoughts on “Georgia Year Four: Cook Off

Leave a Reply

