Funemployed: Lunch Dating

“Hey!  Let’s get lunch this week!” I say.

“Sure!” says my friend, “When are you free?”

“Always!”

Being funemployed comes with a number of benefits.  Sure there are drawbacks, like uncertainty, stress, and no income, but let’s focus on the positive here, people.

One of the nicest things about not working is that I’m free to travel all around the city to meet my working friends for lunch.  We go to different restaurants in different neighborhoods.  Sometimes we get coffee, other times there’s just enough time for them to scarf some food before heading back into the office.

Jenni works so much and so far away that I rarely get to see her, so it was nice to grab some Spinach and Bacon Khatchapuri at Gallery Cafe on a public holiday.
Jenni works so much and so far away that I rarely get to see her, so it was nice to grab some Spinach and Bacon Khatchapuri at Gallery Cafe on a public holiday.
Pete's always the one who has to run off back to work after getting a nice panini with me up in Vake.
Pete’s always the one who has to run off back to work after getting a nice panini with me up in Vake.
Keti is so hard to nail down.  My first month back, and in the spring, we had lunch together all the time.  Lately she's been canceling so much that when other people cancel last minute we call it "pulling a Keti".  But catching up with Keti over coffee and soup/salad at Entree is always one of the highlights of my week.
Keti is so hard to nail down. My first month back, and in the spring, we had lunch together all the time. Lately she’s been canceling so much that when other people cancel last minute we call it “pulling a Keti”. But catching up with Keti over coffee and soup/salad at Entree is always one of the highlights of my week.
One of my youngest and newest best friends, Ruta is always fun to have lunch with!  We've gotten coffee, and soup, and now even Texas Chicken!  She usually brings her mom, Renata, along, but that's pretty cool with me!
One of my youngest and newest best friends, Ruta is always fun to have lunch with! We’ve gotten coffee, and soup, and now even Texas Chicken! She usually brings her mom, Renata, along, but that’s pretty cool with me!

This is easily the biggest perk of funemployment that I’ll miss the most when the inevitable job comes along.  And these people are easily among the ones I’ll miss most when I have to leave Georgia.

One thought on “Funemployed: Lunch Dating

Leave a Reply

